Monday Trivia #49

Seventeen states — Alabama, Alaska, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Missouri, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, and Utah — lack something that the remainder¬†of the states in the U.S.A. possess. What is it?

Burt Likko

Pseudonymous Portlander. Homebrewer. Atheist. Recovering litigator. Recovering Republican. Recovering Catholic. Recovering divorcé. Recovering Former Editor-in-Chief of Ordinary Times. House Likko's Words: Scite Verum. Colite Iusticia. Vivere Con Gaudium.


  1. California and New York but not Texas and Florida. Wyoming and Montana but not Idaho or Utah. New England minus Massachusetts. North Dakota but not South Dakota. Neither Alaska nor Hawaii.


  2. I’m guess it has something to do with law, perhaps more specifically what’s in, or not, the state constitution.

    It can’t be an equal protection clause, since he says Iowa doesn’t have one.

    • Randy’s right. If it’s not “the” answer, it is nonetheless “a” correct answer.

      Isn’t Randy the guy who gets all of these? Why hasn’t he gone on Jeopardy yet and made a few buckets o’ money?

Comments are closed.