Monday Trivia, No. 65

Of the signers of the United States’ Declaration of Independence, ten bear a particular distinction. In order, they are: Button Gwinnett, John Morton, Philip Livingston, John Hart, George Ross, Thomas Lynch Jr., Joseph Hewes, George Taylor, and Richard Stockton. What separates them from their fellow Founders?

Burt Likko

Pseudonymous Portlander. Homebrewer. Atheist. Recovering litigator. Recovering Republican. Recovering Catholic. Recovering divorcé. Recovering Former Editor-in-Chief of Ordinary Times. House Likko's Words: Scite Verum. Colite Iusticia. Vivere Con Gaudium.


  1. They all died before the end of the Revolutionary War.

    • That seems to check with the data, though it says ‘in order’ and per wiki Morton died before Gwinnett. So maybe not.

      • Different sources report the dates of Gwinnett’s death (in a duel) differently. Also not nearly as clear as we would prefer are how many of them took up arms and fought ;nor how many lost property through British seizures.

        All the same, cfpete‘s answer is what we were looking for. Good job!

Comments are closed.